Spread It, Melt It, Love It

Due to a fun sequence of medical circumstances, I am not supposed to eat dairy products. Or egg products. Or red meat.

This is an odd (and oddly specific) list but it has worked! Going dairy-free, egg-free, red-meat-free has allowed me to be in excellent health 99% of the time. For the three years I’ve followed this eclectic diet, it has gone very well for me.

I have also been gluten-free for going on fourteen years. This is a very different diet “need” for me. Where I am not supposed to eat the dairy and the eggs and the meat, I can definitely not eat gluten. Because it will kill me.

Dramatic? Yes. Accurate? Fairly.

So while I am incredibly strict about the gluten-free side of my diet, I am more fluid with the rest of it. No, I won’t “accidentally” eat a steak but, if some butter gets in my restaurant-ordered meal, everything will be okay. I just can’t make a habit of it.

Imagine my joy and wonder when a friend introduced me to Cabot* cheese. It is lactose-free, which is the extent to which my “no dairy in the diet” strictness goes. Last week was my first week in three years where the cheese in my diet wasn’t sweaty or spongy or “trying too hard.”

Most people have access to cheese every day so please excuse this shameless rave about how wonderful of a snack cheese is.

Cheesy.png

 

Of course, no one among us will dispute how delicious a solid cheese dip is or how a plate of nachos can make your belly oh-so-very-happy. However, it’s springtime and, while I don’t believe in seasonal diets, I do believe that warm weather calls for light and fluffy foods.

I am a firm believer in snacks. They can transform your day when used correctly.

Usually, my morning snack is something kinda bland, like table crackers or a banana. And while this usually satisfies my actual hunger, it does little to make me feel actually satisfied. Enter cheese.

This last week of morning snacking has been like, in elementary school, when you opened your lunch box and saw that your mom had packed you Gushers for dessert. Just magical.

A good cheese snack has also changed my lunch time from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., which does wonders for my work day. Where before I was starving by the time I unwrapped my lunch for the day, now I am never ravished.

My favorite cheese snack for the morning time is a couple cubes of both Cabot’s Seriously Sharp Yellow Cheddar Cheese and Seriously Sharp Cheddar Cheese. I packed a handful of gluten-free crackers, some grapes and strawberries, and I am in business.

This snack is amazing. And better for you than starving to death and vending-machining your way through the rest of the day.

I know most humans have access to cheese on a regular basis but trust a person with a three-years-without-Cheddar perspective — change up your morning snack routine and add some cheese.

 

*This is in no way a sponsored post. Would I turn away Cabot cheese sending me blocks of dairy goodness? No. However, that is not the purpose of this plug. It is simply the only cheese I have found in three years that spells “cheese” with an “s” and not a “z” so I am terribly excited.*

 

Written by Shelby Dorsey, sadorsey@live.com
Leave a Reply

